Witch’s Brew

The other day I wrote about how life will throw you a loop and put in a plot twist or two.  That time, for me was a headache and a sore throat.

Thanks to the Isagenix 30 Day Cleanse I can confidently say my headache is gone (what I didn’t tell you is that it was a recurring headache).  Isagenix: 1, Toxicity: nada!

The sore throat lasted about 48 hours and has diminished into a minor head cold.  It may be gone in record time.  Not too bad, immune system.  Not too bad!

So until that time that I am feeling 100% again, I have resorted to my own concoctions to help me feel better.

I often joke and say that if I lived 200 years ago, I am certain I would be put on trial for witchcraft and burned at the stake.  My beliefs and passion for natural healing, along with my ability to speak up for feminism and against the common flock of sheep about injustices or wrong doings, would definitely seal my fate.  All I can say is it’s a darn good thing I’m living in the 21st century!

But back to the reason for the blog today.  I decided to share with my audience my recipe for a cold & flu rub similar to a “common medicine cabinet rub that emits wonderful eucalyptus fragrances.”   Like how I did that without plugging the name?  😉

Anyway, the general “natural health & wellness” folk tend to steer clear of that specific name brand and anything that is made up of similar ingredients as they aren’t exactly au naturel.  Petroleum jelly is a bi-product of the petrol industry – hence PETROLeum.

So here’s what I use in my mixture (and as usual, “consult your doctor” before using anything “outside” of the norm):

2 – 3 tablespoons of coconut oil (you can get the unscented kind if you really don’t like the smell of coconut…I personally love it.  But to each their own, right?)

12 drops of any combination of the following essential oils (you may use all or a couple):

eucalyptus – healing properties include anti-inflammatory, analgesic and antibacterial

peppermint – antimicrobial, cooling effect on the skin, can feel really good on sore muscles

rosemary – what can’t rosemary do?  It can’t do your dishes.  Seriously though, it’s a very versatile oil.  Antimicrobial, used for memory, relaxation, boosts immunity, analgesic, the list goes on.

lavender – much like rosemary, what can’t it do?  Although it’s most well known for it’s relaxing properties, this essential oil is also antibacterial, healing for headaches, wounds and burns, as well as easing itchy skin.

Keep in mind, essential oils are quite powerful smelling and if the above mixture sets your eyes a-fire, you may wish to use less.  Either way, mix the essential oils into the coconut oil.  The coconut oil may melt.  It is totally okay!  You can use it still.  However, if you want it to solidify, place it in a small container in the refrigerator.  It shouldn’t take too long to harden.

So on that note, I’ll bid you adieu.  It has been a long, interesting day.   The universe has upped the My Best Me Challenge ante and I have got a lot of processing to do.  I may blog on it at some point, just not tonight.  Instead, I’m off to bed….after I fly around on my broomstick. 😉

 

4 thoughts on “Witch’s Brew

  1. This is a great read and info on healing natural…..I’m starting to use more natural healing oils and such for a while now they are great….I really like lavender for night time so relaxing and sleep comes so easy…..As for being a witch you must have been a white witch seeing as that you are into the healing not the ritual stuff of black witch.. however just let me grab my broom and we will soar through the night sky together…hehehehehehehehe.Keep them coming you rock

    Like

    • lol! Real “witchery” is white in my eyes. Though you’re right, there are some who don’t “get it” and turn to the dark side, as there are some like that in all religions. Although, I’ve never heard of a “dark Buddhist” LOL I don’t think it’s possible in their religion. 😉
      Anyway, “I’m baaaack”! 😉

      Like

  2. Great post! I love the smell of that ”traditiona;” brand… but not the petroleum or other chemicals… and I LOVE coconut oil and lavendar… Next time the need strikes, I’m gonna try your recipe (with some eucalyptus and rosemary, as well as lavendar)… Thanks for the easy-to-remember recipe! 🙂

    Like

  3. Great post! I love the smell of that ”traditional” brand… but not the petroleum or other chemicals… and I LOVE coconut oil and lavendar… Next time the need strikes, I’m gonna try your recipe (with some eucalyptus and rosemary, as well as lavander)… Thanks for the easy-to-remember recipe! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

